Aberdeenshire takes home Transport Authority of the Year award... again!

Aberdeenshire Council has won the prestigious title of Transport Authority of the Year at the 2016 Scottish Transport Awards.

A previous winner of the accolade in 2008, 2009 and 2012, it is the first local authority to win the title on four occasions.

The council was shortlisted in an additional four categories and these projects were all recognised in the winning submission for Transport Authority of the Year.

Aberdeenshire’s Integrated Travel Towns (ITT) project is aimed at increasing the proportion of travel undertaken by sustainable modes.

In Ellon, improvements included the construction of a new foot and cycle bridge across the River Ythan and upgrading the path along the north bank, providing a safe route to the new Academy from the town centre.

A real time passenger information system for bus services went live in January 2016. The system provides live departure times, allowing customers to make more informed travel choices at the various stages of their journey.

During the aftermath of Storm Frank in December 2015 and January 2016, front line Transportation service employees provided emergency transport in challenging conditions to assist with evacuation of affected communities.

They also helped maintain a link between Braemar and the rest of Aberdeenshire during the closure of Invercauld Bridge and the A93 at Micras.

The council's engagement with customers through regular Area Bus Forums and through the annual Bus Passenger Satisfaction Survey was also evidence that customers are at the heart of what the team does.

Efforts of road maintenance teams also ensure it is consistently among the top rated councils in the Scottish Road Maintenance Condition Survey, highlighting that the operational aspects of the council's activities are held in as high regard as the project-based activities.

Aberdeenshire's role in administering the successful Grasshopper multi-operator bus pass also demonstrates what can be achieved by working in partnership with other public sector bodies and partners in the private sector.

These are just some examples of the excellent transportation work being carried out by the council which contributed toward the awards success.

Chairman of the council’s Infrastructure Services Committee (ISC), David Aitchison, said: "It is extremely satisfying to see Aberdeenshire again being recognised at the Scottish Transport Awards.

“These awards showcase best practice from across the country and it is a credit to everyone involved to have won this award for the fourth time, highlighting the efforts being made to improve local transport every day.”

ISC vice chair, Stephen Smith, added: "To be shortlisted for five categories at this year’s Scottish Transport Awards highlights that Aberdeenshire Council is leading the way in a variety of transportation projects.

“Winning Transport Authority of the Year again demonstrates the council is succeeding in meeting its vision of being the very best of Scotland and I thank all our Transportation staff for helping to make it so.”