Aberdeenshire votes 'Remain' in EU Referendum

The people of Aberdeenshire have voted to ‘remain’ in the European Union, the results of the local count have confirmed.

A total of 76,445 (54.99%) voted to remain in the European Union, while 62,516 (44.97%) voted to leave.

The declaration for Aberdeenshire was made by Returning Officer Jim Savege at around 4.35am at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.

The count was conducted by around 200 count staff, with approximately 80 campaign representatives monitoring proceedings.

The first box from the 165 polling stations for the referendum arrived from Balmedie Leisure Centre at around 10.35pm. All boxes arrived at the count venue by just before midnight.

The turnout for Aberdeenshire was 70.6%, with 139,014 taking to the polls from an electorate of 196,809.

Mr Savege said: “Our focus is always accuracy over speed and this approach served us well again tonight. I would like to thank everybody involved for the successful running of the Aberdeenshire count.”