Councillors appointed for Banff and Inverurie vacancies

Aberdeenshire’s newest councillors have been confirmed as Iain Taylor (Banff and District) and Colin Clark (Inverurie and District) following a by-election for vacancies in the two wards.

Polling took place yesterday (Thu, Nov 3) for the vacancies, with votes transferred to the Garioch Sports Centre in Inverurie, where the count began at 10am today (Fri Nov 4). 

A total of 2,658 votes were cast in Banff and District, representing a turnout of 29.5%, while 3,378 votes were cast in Inverurie and District; a turnout of 30.4%.

Following a count lasting around 90 minutes, Iain Taylor was chosen as the successful candidate for the three-member Banff and District ward with a total of 1,170 votes. Cllr Taylor thanked his supporters during what he described as an ‘enjoyable campaign’.

And Colin Clark was chosen as the successful candidate for the four-member Inverurie and District ward with a total of 1,302 votes. Cllr Clark thanked his supported and the people of Inverurie, and described the by-election as a ‘good, clean fight’.

Aberdeenshire Council’s Chief Executive and Returning Officer Jim Savege said: “Today’s results brings Aberdeenshire back to a total of 68 councillors, and a full complement of representation in both wards.

“We were able to declare both results by 11.30am and I would like to thank all those involved in the efficient running of the count.”

The full breakdown of votes is as follows: 

Banff and District (Ward 1)

Votes cast: 2,658, of which 26 rejected

Turnout: 29.5%

Alistair Mason (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 526

Glen David Reynolds (Scottish National Party [SNP])  962

Iain Taylor (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 1,170

Inverurie and District (Ward 11)

Votes cast: 3,378 (of which 18 rejected)

Turnout: 30.4%

Alison Margaret Campbell Auld (Scottish Liberal Democrats) 755

Neil Baillie (Scottish National Party [SNP]) 1,164

Colin Clark (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) 1,302

Sarah Flavell (Scottish Labour Party  139