Aberdeenshire Council: Christmas/new year arrangements

As Christmas approaches, details of Aberdeenshire Council’s arrangements for the festive fortnight are as follows:

Council offices

Aberdeenshire Council offices will be closed on Mon, Dec 26, and Tue, Dec 27, and again on Mon, Jan 2, and Tue, Jan 3.

Emergency support

Support for urgent housing, waste, and social care matters will continue to be available on the following numbers:

Housing:  0345 608 1203
Waste: 0345 608 1207
Social Care: 0345 608 1206

Aberdeenshire Council’s winter operations room will continue to monitor weather conditions 24 hours a day throughout the festive fortnight and arrange for the gritting and clearance of roads as required.

Waste collections

• Collections scheduled for Mon, Dec 26, will now be made on Fri, Dec 30
• Collections scheduled for Mon, Jan 2, will now be made on Fri, Jan 6
• Collections scheduled for Tue, Dec 27, and Tue, Jan 3, will be made as usual

All Household Waste and Recycling Centres will close at 4pm on Sat, Dec 24, and will re-open as normal on Tue, Dec 27. They will also close at 4pm on Sat, Dec 31, re-opening on Tue, Jan 3.

Sports facilities, libraries, and museums

All sports facilities, libraries and museums will be closed on Sun, Dec 25, and Mon, Dec 26, as well as Sun, Jan 1, and Mon, Jan 2.

In addition, sports facilities and most libraries* will close at 2pm on Sat, Dec 24, and Sat, Dec 31. Museums will operate according to normal opening hours on these days.

*some libraries will close at 2pm on Fri, Dec 23 – further details can be found on the libraries section of the council’s website).

Macduff Marine Aquarium
 
Macduff Marine Aquarium will close at 3pm on Sat, Dec 24, and Sat, Dec 31. For the first time, the aquarium will be open on Thu, Dec 29, and Fri, Dec 30, due to recognised demand on those two days.