13 December 2019

MPs elected to serve three Aberdeenshire constituencies

The MPs who will represent Aberdeenshire’s three UK Parliament constituencies have been confirmed.

• Elected to serve Banff and Buchan – David Duguid (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party)
• Elected to serve Gordon - Richard Thomson (Scottish National Party, SNP)
• Elected to serve West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine – Andrew Bowie (Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party) 

The results were announced in the early hours of 13 Dec 2019 following a overnight count at P+J Live (TECA).

More than 1,000 people were involved in supporting the election process over the course of the day, from polling staff in Aberdeenshire’s 155 polling places, transportation of ballot boxes, and those directly involved in the overnight count process. Not all polling staff are Council employees and the successful delivery of the results of this General Election in Aberdeenshire are as much credit to the volunteers and members of local communities who step in to deliver essential roles.

Across the three Aberdeenshire seats a total of 151,879 votes were cast, from an electorate of 218,924, which results in an overall 69.4% turn out. The Aberdeenshire turnout at the June 2017 General Election was 67.3%

Aberdeenshire Council Returning Officer and Chief Executive Jim Savege said: “We have delivered another successful election process in Aberdeenshire, and my thanks go out to everyone involved. Of course, the contingency planning required to deliver a winter election placed a new and unusual demand on the team and it was reassuring to see the planning put into practice in Aberdeenshire to make sure that all polling places were accessible to voters.

“We also carried out the count in a new venue which gave us a chance to look at our process and adapt them to a new space. Teamwork with the venue operations team and with Aberdeen City Council colleagues worked well.

“Each constituency is an important part in the overall national election landscape, and I would like to thank everyone involved who did Aberdeenshire proud tonight.”

The full results for each constituency are available at: