18 June 2021

David Keating named as new councillor for East Garioch

Scottish Conservative and Unionist party candidate David Keating has been chosen at the new Aberdeenshire councillor for East Garioch (Ward 12).

With voting having taken place yesterday (Thursday, June 17), the appointment was confirmed following the electronic counting of votes at Inverurie Town Hall this morning (Friday, June 18). A total of 2,725 votes were cast, representing a turnout of 26.2 %.

David Keating’s election follows the sad passing of councillor Fergus Hood in March and brings Aberdeenshire Council to almost a full complement of 69 elected members. The council will be back up to its full complement of 70 elected members following the Mid Formartine by-election in August.

The count began at 10am, with results being declared by returning officer and Aberdeenshire Council’s Chief Executive Jim Savege just after 11:30 am as follows:

Candidate Party Votes
Andy BROWN Scottish Labour Party 111
David KEATING Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 1240
Trevor Booth MASON Scottish Liberal Democrats  281
Jamie OGILVIE Scottish Green Party 130
Dan RITCHIE   Scottish National Party (SNP) 963
Cllr David Keating said he was delighted to win the by-election. He is looking forward to working for the people of East Garioch and Aberdeenshire. He pledged to do his utmost to fashion consensus.

Jim Savege said: “Today’s appointment sees Aberdeenshire Council take a step closer towards being restored to full democratic strength. I would like to thank colleagues from across the council for the smooth and successful running of this by-election.”