20 August 2021

Sheila Powell elected as new councillor for Mid Formartine

Conservative and Unionist party candidate Sheila Powell has been elected as the new Aberdeenshire councillor for Mid Formartine (Ward 8).

With voting having taken place yesterday (Thursday, August 19), the election was confirmed following the electronic counting of votes at Inverurie Town Hall this morning (Friday, August 20). A total of 3,257 votes were cast, representing a turnout of 27.9 %.

Cllr Powell’s election follows the resignation of former councillor Karen Adam in May and brings Aberdeenshire Council back to a full complement of 70 elected members.

The count began at 10am, with results being declared by returning officer and Chief Executive of Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege at 11:15am as follows: 

Candidate Party Votes
Jeff GOODHALL Scottish Liberal Democrats 412
Peter KENNEDY Scottish Green Party 144
Jenny NICOL Scottish National Party (SNP) 1205
Sheila POWELL Scottish Conservative and Unionist 1480

Cllr Powell said she was delighted to win the by-election. She is looking forward to working for the people of Mid Formartine and Aberdeenshire.

Jim Savege said: “Today’s (Friday, August 20) appointment sees Aberdeenshire Council restored to full democratic strength. I’d like to thank colleagues across the council for the smooth and successful running of this by-election.”