Aberdeenshire Council's Building Standards team re-appointed as verifiers for maximum term

A recent Scottish Government announcement confirmed all 32 Local Authorities have been re-appointed as building standards verifiers.

The period of time each Local Authority has been appointed for was dependent on its recent performance.

Aberdeenshire’s Building Standards team is delighted to have been appointed for the maximum term of six years after being deemed a strong performing authority.

Good and poor performing authorities have been appointed for three years and one year respectively, with any extensions subject to the authority demonstrating improvements.

Aberdeenshire’s re-appointment provides continuity to residents, local businesses, developers and architects, ensuring that local contacts and the service provided within the Building Standards team remains the same. 

Team members will continue to ensure that work carried out on both new and existing buildings meets reasonable standards, set out in the building regulations. 

This work is carried out through the processing of Building Warrants and site inspections with the aim of securing the health, safety, welfare and convenience of anyone in or about buildings, as well as the conservation of fuel and power and achievement of sustainable development.

Over the past 24 months Aberdeenshire’s Building Standards team has worked hard, undertaking a staff re-structure, office rationalisation, embracing e-building standards beyond the level required and obtaining Customer Service Excellence accreditation.

All of this work helped ensure its re-appointment for the maximum six year term.

Infrastructure Services Director, Stephen Archer, said: “The service provided by Building Standards is constantly being reviewed in terms of processing a Building Warrant application timeously, professionally and also ensuring that the service provided is what the customer actually wants.

“The six year re-appointment is confirmation that improvements are being recognised.”

The re-appointment period begins on May 1, 2017.