Provost congratulates those recognised in New Year Honours List for 2019

Provost of Aberdeenshire Cllr Bill Howatson has offered his congratulations to those recognised in the New Year’s Honours List for 2019.

A number of people with links to Aberdeenshire received honours for their efforts in several fields, including charity, sport, business and community work.

Among those on the list was one of Aberdeenshire Council’s former directors, Maria Walker, who was made an OBE.

Provost of Aberdeenshire Cllr Bill Howatson said: “I am very pleased that our former Director of Education and Children’s Services, Maria Walker, has been recognised in the new year’s honours list.

“Maria was very well-respected during her time here at Aberdeenshire Council, known both for the energy and passion she brought to the role as well as her lively character and great sense of humour.

“I know that her former colleagues and elected members alike will be pleased to see her honoured for her hard work

“I’d also like to offer my congratulations to everybody else with Aberdeenshire connections who has been recognised. Each of you represents part of what makes the area such a wonderful place in which to live, work and visit.”

The full New Year’s Honours List can be found at