Polling stations announced for Ellon and District by-election

Aberdeenshire Council has today (Monday, September 14) confirmed details of polling stations that will be used in the by-election for the vacant Ellon and District seat.

The following locations will act as polling stations:

Arnage Primary School

Auchterellon Primary School

Collieston Community Centre

Ellon Primary School

Meiklemill Primary School

Newburgh Mathers Primary School

The seat became vacant following the resignation of Richard Thomson, which followed his election as MP for the Gordon constituency last year. Polls will open at 7am and close at 10pm on Thursday, October 15.

Returning Officer for Aberdeenshire Council Jim Savege said: “The Ellon and District by-election is the first occasion where our residents are casting their ballots during the Coronavirus pandemic.

“I would like to help put everyone’s mind at rest that election staff will do everything they can to make casting your vote in a polling station as safe as possible. We are following national guidance from the Electoral Commission and Electoral Management Board for Scotland.

“As with most things at the moment, please plan ahead, stay safe and save lives. If you feel more comfortable voting by post or applying for a proxy ballot, then these options are available to assist you with voting in a way that suits you during the current Coronavirus pandemic. If anyone is required to self-isolate or if a local lockdown is enforced, then you can apply for an emergency proxy ballot up to 5pm on Thursday, October 15.”

The deadline to register to vote for the by-election is Tuesday, September 29. Anyone wishing to submit a postal vote needs to apply by 5pm on Wednesday, September 30. Applications for a proxy vote need to be received by 5pm on Wednesday, October 7.

More information about the Ellon and District by-election is available by visiting: https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/council-and-democracy/elections/ellon-and-district-ward-by-election/