16 October 2020

Louise Mcallister named as new councillor for Ellon and District

Scottish National Party candidate Louise Mcallister has been chosen as the new Aberdeenshire councillor for Ellon and District (Ward 9).

With voting having taken place yesterday (Thursday, October 15), the appointment was confirmed following the electronic counting of votes at Aberdeenshire Council’s Woodhill House headquarters this morning (Friday, October 16). A total of 3,972 votes were cast, representing a turnout of 33.7%.

Cllr Mcallister’s election followings the resignation of former councillor Richard Thomson last year and brings Aberdeenshire Council back to a full complement of 70 elected members.

The count began at 10 am, with results being declared by returning officer and Aberdeenshire Council’s Chief Executive Jim Savege just after 12 pm as follows:

Candidate Party Votes
John David BENNETT Scottish Labour Party 114
John Paul CRAWLEY Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 1,658
Peter Alexander KENNEDY Scottish Green Party 112
Trevor Booth MASON Scottish Liberal Democrats 405
Louise MCALLISTER Scottish National Party 1,683
Total 3,972

Cllr Mcallister said she was delighted to win the by-election. She is looking forward to working for the people of Ellon and Aberdeenshire.

Jim Savege said: “Today’s appointment sees Aberdeenshire Council restored to full democratic strength. I’d like to thank colleagues across the council for the smooth and successful running of this by-election.”