Details |
Remains of a railway station, depicted on historic OS maps, opened in 1865 as the northern terminus of the Montrose and Bervie Railway. It had a single platform on the west side of a loop and a goods yard on the east side. The 1st edition OS map shows the small station building, another building and weighing machine in the goods yard, and at the south end of the site a turntable and engine shed. The 2nd edition OS map also shows a signal box (opened in 1893 and closed in 1927), signal post and two more buildings and a crane in the yard. The station closed to passengers in 1951, the line closing completely in 1966. The buildings and track have been almost entirely removed. Site visit in 2023 as part of the SCAPE Coastal Zone Assessment Survey recorded half of the stone foundations of the turntable visible in the grass.
|