Aberdeen City HER - NJ80SE0209 - EAST CULTS FREE CHURCH

Print site NJ80SE0209 Feedback on site NJ80SE0209

Please wait while the map is loading.

Map Help +

Feature: NJ80SE0209 - EAST CULTS FREE CHURCH
More Details here

Site of East Cults United Free church depicted on the OS 3rd edition map, which also shows a hall at the north end. It was disjoined from Banchory-Devenick, Peterculter and Craigiebuckler on 13 March 1896. The church was designed by Duncan McMillan and dedicated in April 1903. It became the Cults East Church in 1929. Much of the building was destroyed by fire in 1941, leaving only the spire and stair tower. A new church was built in the 1950s to the north of the these, within the footprint of the earlier church and incorporating the earlier hall. The last service was held in the church in 2005 after Cults West and Cults East Kirks agreed to a union. The remains of the original church were demolished in 2012 to make way for a new Cults Kirk Centre.
100 m
200 ft
0, 0
© Crown copyright and database rights 2025 OS AC0000851922

Map Key  HER Legend Key - Standard Standard HER Legend Key - Regional Regional HER Legend Key - Scheduled Scheduled
Scheduled (red) sites are of national importance and are protected by legislation.
Regionally significant (purple) sites are assessed to have importance in a regional context on the basis of their survival and or rarity.
Standard (blue) sites cover all other sites on the HER.
Grid Reference

Google Map for NJ80SE0209