Angus HER - NO34NE0003 - OLD PARISH CHURCH, EASSIE

Print site NO34NE0003 Feedback on site NO34NE0003

Please wait while the map is loading.

Map Help +

Feature: NO34NE0003 - OLD PARISH CHURCH, EASSIE
More Details here

Remains of a church and graveyard, including a Pictish cross slab. Eassie Church was dedicated to St Brandon in 1246 by Bishop David of St Andrews, and in 1309 was granted to Newbattle Abbey. The church is thought to have been dedicated to the saints, Brandon and Fergus. It was probably partly or wholly rebuilt in the late-16th century. The West doorway in the South wall is 18th century, suggesting further remodelling at that time, but the Eastern doorway is original. It is now a roofless shell, rectangular in plan, measuring 17.2 metres by 4.7 metres (56 feet x 15 feet), with complete gables. The Northern and Southern walls stand to a height of circa 2 metres (6.6 feet) and are circa 0.8 metres (2.6 feet) thick. The graveyard is enclosed in rubble walls that follow the contours of the raised yard, and is in poor condition. The churchyard contains the Commonwealth war grave of Provate James Cromb, Black Watch. The parish of Nevay was united with Eassie in 1660, and services were held alternately with Nevay Church (NO34SW0001) until 1833, when a new church (NO34SW0057) was built on a site convenient to both former parishes. In 1969, a Pictish Class II stone (NO34NE0004) was housed within the southeast angle of the church.
100 m
200 ft
0, 0
© Crown copyright and database rights 2025 OS AC0000851922

Map Key  HER Legend Key - Standard Standard HER Legend Key - Regional Regional HER Legend Key - Scheduled Scheduled
Scheduled (red) sites are of national importance and are protected by legislation.
Regionally significant (purple) sites are assessed to have importance in a regional context on the basis of their survival and or rarity.
Standard (blue) sites cover all other sites on the HER.
Grid Reference

Google Map for NO34NE0003